Beauty & Fashion · Lifestyle

Burt’s Bees X Niomi Smart Competition Product Review

In April, I became the incredibly lucky winner of the Burt’s Bees X Niomi Smart Instagram competition. I have been a big fan of Burt’s Bees since I first started using their lip balm age 15, so when the company contacted me to inform me that I had won a box of face care goodies picked out by Youtuber and blogger Niomi Smart (one of my all time faves), I was incredibly happy. A few days later when I gleefully unpacked the various products from their box, it occurred to me that a product review of the range might make a nice blog post for my lovely readers! So, over the last couple of months I have been trialling all of the products thoroughly and now, without further ado, I will divulge my honest, non-sponsored opinions of each product with you!

 

Intense Hydration Eye Cream (£19.99)

When I first unpacked my assortment of goodies, I knew instantly that this was the product I was most excited to try. I really love (and need) eye creams and this is quite honestly the best one I have used so far. It is incredibly hydrating and smooths out under eye creases and other noticeable signs of tiredness very, very well; I used it a lot throughout my final university deadlines and exams, so that’s a pretty high level of stress and tiredness to successfully combat! Until recently, I had been using a Simple eye cream each day, but now this has taken pride of place in my skin care collection. I realise that £20 is pretty pricey for such a small cream, but it is definitely worth it if you have the budget.

Intense Hydration Day Lotion (£19.99)

As a person with combination skin, I have to admit that I am a little bit scared of facial moisturisers. Some don’t relieve dry skin very well, others leave me with a face full of horrible pimples, so I typically find myself shying away from trying them out due to my fear of the consequences. However, when Burt’s Bees send you a free moisturiser, you do not leave it in it’s box, and actually this is a really nice product! As it’s a lotion, this moisturiser is light and refreshing and doesn’t leave me feeling like I have a greasy film over my face. What’s more, it hasn’t increased my breakouts and I am also currently free from dry skin completely! Now, before I get ahead of myself, that could be because we’re currently in the best season of the year for my skin, but it will be interesting to see how this lotion holds up throughout the winter months!

Intense Hydration Night Cream (£19.99)

Once again, my combination skin worried me with this product and it’s thicker formulation definitely didn’t help my preexisting fears. However, as it so happens, I had very little to worry about. Although many products focused around moisturising and preventing dry skin are oily and therefore problematic, this cream is not at all greasy. It is thick, but absorbs into the skin quickly and doesn’t leave you with that oily-faced feeling in the morning. I also really like the glass pot design and would happily see it applied to more of the products; it has an elegant aesthetic and is definitely more ecofriendly than plastic!

Intense Hydration Treatment Mask (£19.99)

I can’t be the only person who was slightly confused but amazed when they read the ‘directions’ on the back of this product. I have never heard of a face mask that you layer up, leave on to absorb, and then wipe off with a tissue (someone please tell me I’m not the only one who finds that odd but cool)! However, what I can say is that this mask is the perfect post-swim treat for skin which has been dried out by chlorinated pool water. I love slathering it up after a trip to the pool and then going to bed with silky smooth skin!

Soap Bark and Chamomile Deep Cleansing Cream (£11.49)

In general, I don’t typically like cream washes because I always feel like they leave a nasty residue on my skin. However, this wash is less foamy than other washes I’ve tried and does actually rinse off fairly easily. It also (on a slightly unrelated note) smells exactly like sherbert refreshers! In all honesty, I probably wouldn’t buy this product again; it just doesn’t slot into my routine as well as the other products because I’m not a huge cream cleanser fanatic. If you like cream cleansers though, I would definitely recommend giving it a try because it is very nice!

Facial Cleansing Oil With Coconut & Argan Oils (£16.99)

I really like this cleansing oil for days when I’ve put on a full face of heavier makeup. I put about 2-3 pumps on my palm, warm it between my hands and then massage it into my face, giving special attention to the more stubborn makeup around my eyes. It melts away any makeup with ease and although it gives you scary panda eyes in the process, it does a fantastic job. In addition, the pump design of the bottle is brilliant because you don’t end up in a mess with product everywhere. The only thing I can really say against the product is that you could buy a pot of generic coconut oil for a much lower price tag if you’re willing to sacrifice the additional element of argan oil and the more convenient packaging. 

 

All in all, I’m very impressed with all of the products I received from Burt’s Bees. The clary sage range smells incredible and 3 months on, I’m still nowhere near running out of the products that I use daily. Although I probably won’t buy every single item again, a good few of these products have definitley made it on to my skin care favourites list (especially that eye cream!). I hope you’ve enjoyed reading this little review of the products I was sent – if you have any other questions, I’d be more than happy to answer them, so please don’t hesitate to comment! All that’s left to say is a huge thank you to the lovely people at Burt’s Bees for creating and sharing these goodies with me!

Lots of love, Alissa

Leave a Reply

