Beauty & Fashion · Lifestyle

My Graduation Outfit

If you’ve clicked on this blog post on the day it was published, there is a good chance that I’m currently shaking hands with some fancy pants people, enjoying a nice glass of bubbly, or creating one of those truly novel throwing-my-cap-in-the-air-in-celebration photographs because IT’S MY GRADUATION DAY! I plan to write a mushy post in the near future containing a few of my favourite pictures from G-Day, but for now I simply want to talk about what I’m wearing (besides my robes and hat, of course) on possibly the most exciting day of 2017.


The Dress

Processed with VSCO with a5 preset

I picked up this gorgeous Lipsy London dress on a recent shopping trip to West Quay, Southampton with my sister. After a whole day of searching, I was beginning to give up on the thought of finding something special for graduation, but when I walked into Next and spotted this out of the corner of my eye, my heart skipped a beat. With its stunning blue hue and intricate lace detailing, this dress couldn’t have been more perfect. As if I needed anymore reason to love it, when I tried it on it was like it had been made to measure!

The Shoes

Processed with VSCO with a5 preset

I actually bought these shoes a while ago in New Look, but when it came to picking an outfit for graduation, I just knew that I would end up choosing to wear them. There’s nothing better than a strappy heel in the summer months and black really does go with everything! What’s more, I’ve worn these out to a number of different events (including my last ever uni summer ball) and they are insanely comfortable. I have no shame about recycling an outfit, especially when it comes to a comfy pair of shoes!


Aside from these pretty major details, I don’t really have anything else planned outfit-wise. I do everything I can to avoid taking bags to events, so I intend to ditch the bag and leave anything important (i.e. phone, purse, etc.) with my mum on the day. I also really want my arms free so I can hug as many of my lovely uni pals as possible before we head our separate ways. I hope you’ve enjoyed reading this little post about my outfit planning and I’ll see you again soon for part 2 where I’ll share some pictures of the actual day with you!

Lots of love, Alissa

Leave a Reply

