Creativity · Lifestyle

Creating A Wildlife Garden #1: The Starting Point

Last year, I dug a little patch of land beneath my kitchen window at home with the intention of converting it into a floral paradise to support England’s ever-declining native species of bees and butterflies. However, after replacing the old, disintegrating garden border with new granite blocks and digging out excessive quantities of grass, brambles and other weeds, the summer had run away with me and I had no free time left to get planting. I was a little disheartened, but I reminded myself that ‘Rome wasn’t built in a day’ and promised myself that I would continue my venture the following year. As I’ve started up blogging in the time since then, I thought I’d bring you along with me on this little green-fingered adventure.

Processed with VSCO with a5 presetProcessed with VSCO with a5 preset

So, fast-forward 12 months and here I am. The garden became a little unruly during the winter, so I’ve dug and weeded it again and it’s finally time to start constructing my wildlife haven. One thing I should probably make very clear before this project gets underway is that I am no gardening professional. My mother grew vegetables with me when I was child and I’ve generally always been very interested in plants, but that’s about as far as my expertise goes. So, if you’re a green-fingered whizz following my blog and I do something horrifically wrong in this series of posts, I am very sorry in advance. Also, please tell me when I’m making errors and share your knowledge with me because I really would love to have a better understanding of gardening by the time this project is completed!

Over the next month or so, I will be planning out the plot, shopping and selecting various plants, and slowly constructing my little bee paradise. If you’d like to hear more of my story as I get creative make a mess in the garden, you can follow my blog by clicking the WordPress follow button, signing up for email notifications (you’ll find a little box in the side bar where you just have to type in an email address and click ‘subscribe’), or finding me over on bloglovin’ here. I’m also on Instagram, Twitter and Tumblr. See you all soon for post #2!

Lots of love, Alissa

Leave a Reply

