Beauty & Fashion · Lifestyle

May Favourites | 2017

Over the last couple of months, time has absolutely flown by. During April I spent every living moment drowning in 10,000 words of coursework assignments (which resulted in the lack of an April Favourites blog post – sorry!) and May was quite simply a blur of perpetual revision and exams. Although this time of year is generally unpleasant for students, I thought it would be nice to talk about a few of the things which kept my spirits up and made me smile throughout the month of May.

Processed with VSCO with a5 preset

1. Superdrug Peel-off Face Masks (£0.99)

In March, one of my friends put together an incredibly thoughtful little bag of assorted gifts for my birthday (you’re an absolute gem, Han!) which contained a handful of Superdrug face masks. Although I often favour mud-style masks, I can honestly say that after using Superdrug’s Manuka Honey and Black Seaweed masks, I am now a peel-off convert. I think in the past I have made the mistake of putting too little of the product onto my face, but if you actually use the whole sachet and layer it up nice and thick, you get a much better end result. If I had to pick a favourite, the Manuka Honey mask definitely comes top for me; the honey calms down any nasty blemishes on my skin and the chamomile is so relaxing!

2. Effervescent Vitamin C

At the start of May, just about everyone around me was ill with something. Seeing as I work on the front counter of a pharmacy, illness is already an occupational hazard for me. However, with the additional threat of infection from various other sources, I decided to give my body the best possible chance in the lead up to exams by investing in some vitamin C. In the end I managed to avoid illness throughout my exams and I also found that I upped my water intake because of having to dissolve the tablets to take them. As a person who definitely doesn’t drink enough water (terrible, I know), this was a plus for me.

3. Too Faced Sweet Peach Eye Shadows Palette (£39)

This palette was another of my 21st birthday presents and I don’t think I will ever be able to fully describe just how good it is; there is a lot of hype surrounding the Sweet Peach range and now I completely understand why. I am  o b s e s s e d  with every single one of the 18 shades which Too Faced have created for this palette. They are highly pigmented, blend so easily and (as if that isn’t enough) they also smell like peaches…yes, this palette will make your eyelids smell like peaches. I’m not sure if I’m alone in this, but I typically find that there is at least one colour in every eye shadow palette that I don’t really like, or I can’t envisage myself using. With this palette, I just can’t fault a single shade. I can see this palette being a firm favourite of mine for many, many years to come.

4. Coconut Merchant Coconut Chips (£1.25)

Anyone who knows me closely will be able to tell you that I really love coconut. Whether it’s in the food that I eat or the beauty products that I’m using, I just can’t get enough of it. That’s why when I walked into my local Sainsbury’s and spotted these on the shelf, I just had to buy a packet to try them out. Since that fateful day, I haven’t been able to leave them alone because they are just far too delicious. They have a beautifully crunchy texture, which I’m guessing stems from the fact that they’re baked, and their resealable packaging makes them easy to slip into a handbag for later. I also found that they were a great alternative to my typically unhealthy revision snacks during exams. If you’re a fan of coconut, go and pick up a packet of these asap and let me know what you think!

Processed with VSCO with a5 presetProcessed with VSCO with a5 preset

I hope you’ve enjoyed reading about the little handful of things that I was loving throughout the month of May. Do you have any particular favourites that keep your spirits up when life gets a bit too stressful? I’d love to know! I realise that some of you may still be slogging your way through exams, so if you are I wish you the very best of luck. As long as you work hard and do the very best that you can, that’s all that matters. Keep your chin up – you can get through it!

Lots of love, Alissa

4 thoughts on “May Favourites | 2017

  1. Whenever I see the Sweet Peach palette, I’m always like 👀👀👀, but I end up talking myself out because I have too many palettes already! Have you tried the chocolate bar palette? It makes your eyes smell like cocoa

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It is honestly soooo nice! I am obsessed. Maybe put it on a birthday/Christmas list and drop subtle hints to your family 😉
      Yes! My friend had one of the chocolate bar palettes at uni and they smell so good too! I think Too Faced just have it bang on with the eye shadows. I really need to look into more of their products 😍

      Like

      1. Haha that is perfectly understandable, I am an awful hoarder! 😂
        Oh wow yeah, they must get young children especially trying to eat them. They do smell good enough to eat!

        Like

Leave a Reply

