Beauty & Fashion · Lifestyle

Summer Ballin’

On Tuesday evening, I slipped into a dress and heels and headed down to Pitcher and Piano in Southampton with my friends for our very last university ball. During my years at uni, the Geography Society (affectionately known as GeogSoc) has held balls at both Christmas and in summer to celebrate the end of each semester in style. Whilst Christmas balls usually involve a very fancy three course meal in a posh hotel, summer balls always begin with everyone raising a glass at Pitcher and Piano before setting sail out onto the Solent in a party boat. All in all, the event is a night of drinking, dancing and having a last blast with friends before the year comes to a close.

The Location

Pitcher and Piano is a bar located on the waterfront of Southampton in Ocean Village Marina. It offers a wide array of food and drinks as well as spectacular views of the harbour outside. What’s more, the interior decor of the bar is stunning; the designers have combined sophistication with shabby chic style perfectly. Although the overall impression of the interior is modern and elegant, shelving occupied by charming old novels and other trinkets gives the bar a soft, intimate atmosphere. If you’re looking for somewhere in Southampton to enjoy a drink or some al fresco dining in the summer months, I cannot recommend Pitcher and Piano enough.

image2

image1

My Outfit, Hair & Makeup

In previous years, I have purchased and planned my outfit for summer ball several weeks in advance and even practised various hair styles and makeup looks ready for the event. This year, with the stress of a third year workload, the mere thought of that was impossible. So, I apologise in advance that some of the following products do not have links. It’s simply because they aren’t available anymore!

image3

For my outfit, I picked out a dusky pink dress (New Look) with floral detailing and I paired it with some strappy black heels (New Look) and a dusky pink bag with lace overlay (Accessorize). I curled my hair using my Tresemmé curling wand and spritzed it with some Slivikrin natural hold hairspray, before pinning a small section back with some hair grips (bobby pins). For my makeup, I used a number of products:

image4

As always, the ball was a great success and I had a really lovely time with my friends. I can honestly say that the balls will remain some of my favourite memories from my years at university and I will really miss them. All that’s left to say is a massive thank you to the University of Southampton Geography Society, Pitcher and Piano, and everyone else who was involved in making these events so special over the last few years.

I mainly wrote this little post as a sort of diary entry for myself to look back on in the future (hey, future me!), but I hope you’ve enjoyed reading it nonetheless. Thanks for stopping by to visit my little space on the internet!

Lots of love, Alissa

Leave a Reply

