Beauty & Fashion · Lifestyle

February Favourites | 2017

February is great, isn’t it? It might be another cold (and largely dreary) winter month, but it’s short and sweet and often has days that feel tantalisingly spring-like. The only problem with a slightly shorter month is that there’s less time to try out new things and decide if something is fabulous enough to make it into a favourites blog post. That being said, I’ve jotted down a few things in this post that tickled my pickle (I’ve always loved that expression) last month.

IMG_0151a

1. Maybelline Lash Sensational Mascara (£7.99)

The blogosphere and YouTubers everywhere will not stop talking about this mascara and, after buying and trying one myself, I can see why. Nothing can prepare you for the volume that this mascara creates. Seriously, it’s mind-blowing. I have always had so much trouble getting my very straight lashes to curl upwards, but this does it in seconds with ease! I will admit that I was a little intimidated by its odd-shaped brush at first, but it’s very easy to use when you get used to it. I can see this being a firm favourite of mine for a very long time!

2. The Little Paris Bookshop, Nina George (£8.99)

I actually started reading this book several months ago, but I had to put it down to focus on my undergraduate dissertation. Last month, I was able to pick it back up again and I have fallen straight back into the story.  Although I’m currently only halfway through the book, I already love it; Nina George’s writing is just beautiful. I can do a post about the book when I’ve finished it if anyone is interested!

3. Hollister Palisades Beach Body Mist (£11)

Peach, pink grapefruit, kiwi and bergamot give this mist the most amazing fruity, summery scent. I found myself spritzing this a lot throughout February in a desperate attempt to trick my brain into believing that summer had arrived. Whilst tricking my brain didn’t really work, this spray really does smell incredible and would make a lovely gift for anyone with a spring/summer birthday coming up!

4. Burt’s Bees Beeswax Lip Balm (£3.99)

If I wrote down a list of all of the reasons why I dislike winter, chapped lips would definitely be on it. Through the colder spells of February, I found myself reaching for this lip balm a lot. I’ve been a fan of Burt’s Bees since I was 15 and I have always loved the soothing peppermint in this product. However, if you’re not a fan of mint, don’t be discouraged. They also manufacture this lip balm in a number of other flavours: pomegranate, mango, honey, pink grapefruit, vanilla bean, and coconut and pear.

5. Sainsbury’s Triple Chocolate Sundae (£1)

It’s really awful, but these sundaes became a bit of a guilty pleasure in February. There’s not really much to say about them, they’re just delicious. What’s not to love about a miniature pot of chocolate mousse, chocolate custard and little pieces of chocolate brownie?

6. Duolingo (FREE)

Duolingo is a free app for iPhone/iPad/iPod which lets you practice a number of languages and build up your skills gradually with regular use. You can choose to learn Spanish, French, German, Portuguese, Italian, Irish, Dutch, Danish, Swedish or English and you can go through a simple ‘test’ when you initially begin on the app to set your level of expertise. I’m currently trying to get back to speaking French and this a is really helpful resource which is always there at my fingertips! I wish I’d had this app back in school and college because I know it would’ve helped me hugely with languages.

 

So, that was everything I enjoyed using (and eating hehe) throughout February. I’d love to hear what products you’ve been loving lately, so please let me know in the comments! I’m hoping my favourites list might be a bit more extensive next month because March is that little bit longer and it’s also my birthday month! As always, thank you so much for stopping by to visit my little piece of the internet.

Love, Alissa

Leave a Reply

